India vs Australia Second Final at Brisbane Commonwealth Bank Series 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs Australia Second Final at Brisbane

IND vs AUS, Second Final, Brisbane: India win CB series (2:0)

India wrapped up the triangular one-day international cricket competition when they beat Australia by nine runs to take an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the best-of-three finals series at Brisbane Tuesday.
The Indians made 258-9 in their 50 overs then restricted the home side to 249 to claim a thrilling win and take the final ever triangular series to be played in Australia. Veteran Sachin Tendulkar led the Indian batting with a fine 91 before newcomer Praveen Kumar tore through the Australian top order, claiming Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke with just 32 runs on the board.
Kumar came back at the death to bowl Brett Lee and finish the match with 4-46 from 10 overs to signal his arrival on the international scene. Australian allrounder James Hopes led a rearguard action, scoring a career-high 63, but he kept losing batting partners and was last man out when caught at mid-off trying to blast 13 runs off the final over.
After Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat, India were 205-3 at one stage and heading for a score of more than 300. But when an injury-hampered Tendulkar was dismissed for 91, the scoring rate slowed and Australia's bowlers began to gain control.
Tendulkar was well supported by Yuvraj Singh (38), M.S. Dhoni (36) and Robin Uthappa (30), but the Indians were at least 50 runs short of where they should have been.
IND vs AUS, Second Final, Brisbane: India 258-9 (50 overs) beat Australia 249 (49.4 overs) by nine runs

IND vs AUS, Second Final, Brisbane: India eye history in second final against Australia

After winning the first of the best-of-three Commonwealth Bank Series finals in Sydney, India are all keyed up to clinch the tri-series and create history by winning Tuesday’s second match at the Gabba. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s enthusiastic lot defeated Australia by six wickets in the first final in Sydney Sunday and would be eager to finish the job without having to go to Adelaide for the decider.
India are playing the finals of the tri-series for the third time on their sixth visit Down Under, but have never won it since they first played in 1980-81, a year after it was launched following a truce between the Australian cricket board and media mogul Kerry Packer. Australia, on the other hand, have won the series 18 times and were runners-up seven times. They have set this imposing record as they have played in every series as hosts.
Playing in the finals for the fourth time and having won a match in the finals for the first time Sunday, India would like to break the 27-year-old jinx. For the first time in the series, the Australians will be under pressure, having to stay in the contest and the Indians are in a position to dictate terms. India will only be too keen prove that they got the short end of the stick in off-field controversies in the long Test and One-Day series despite playing tough, competitive cricket.
India lost the Test series 1-2 and in the inaugural section of the tri-series, they won two matches and Australia two while one was abandoned due to rain. Australia would be wary of India as they are performing as a team, especially Sachin Tendulkar, who hit a masterly 42nd century on Sunday, his first in the ODIs against Australia Down Under and also the first at the Sydney Cricket Ground.
India, especially Tendulkar, will be keen to finish off the acrimonious tour with another win that would give the team the title and wipe out the defeat in the Test series. Tendulkar is relieved to get the monkey off his shoulder, but he expressed his wish to win Tuesday’s match. India team (from): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma and Sreesanth
Australia team (from): Ricky Ponting (Captain), Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain/wicket-keeper), Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, James Hopes, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee and Andrew Symonds

India vs Australia Second Final at Brisbane


India won the toss and decided to bat
258 for 9 (50.0 overs)
249 all out (49.4 overs)

India Innings - Close
Uthappa c Hopes b Clark
49 1 0
Tendulkar c Ponting b Clarke
121 7 0
Gambhir c Johnson b Clarke
16 1 0
Yuvraj c Hayden b Symonds
38 2 2
Dhoni c Clarke b Bracken
37 2 1
R Sharma c Symonds b Clarke
5 0 0
b Bracken
20 1 0
Harbhajan lbw b Lee
3 0 0
Kumar c Ponting b Bracken
7 1 0
Chawla not out
2 1 0
Sreesanth not out
2 0 0
12w 5lb 17
for 9 258 (50.0 ovs)

Lee 10.0 0 58 1
Bracken 9.0 1 31 3
Clark 6.0 0 32 1
Johnson 6.0 0 33 0
Hopes 6.0 0 20 0
Clarke 10.0 0 52 3
Symonds 3.0 0 27 1
Fall of wicket
94 Uthappa
121 Gambhir
175 Yuvraj
205 Tendulkar
209 R Sharma
237 Pathan
240 Dhoni
249 Harbhajan
255 Kumar

Australia Innings - All out
Gilchrist c Dhoni b Kumar
3 0 0
Hayden run out
68 7 0
Ponting c Yuvraj b Kumar
7 0 0
b Kumar
22 1 0
Symonds lbw b Harbhajan
56 2 1
M Hussey c Dhoni b Sreesanth
42 3 0
Hopes not out
78 4 1
b Kumar
12 0 0
Johnson c Dhoni b Sreesanth
6 1 0
Bracken c Chawla b Pathan
2 0 0
Clark c Chawla b Pathan
2 0 0
7w 2lb 9
all out 249 (49.4 ovs)

Kumar 10.0 2 46 4
Sreesanth 9.0 0 43 2
Pathan 8.4 0 54 2
Harbhajan 10.0 0 44 1
Chawla 9.0 0 45 0
Yuvraj 3.0 0 15 0
Fall of wicket
2 Gilchrist
8 Ponting
32 Clarke
121 Hayden
123 Symonds
199 M Hussey
228 Lee
238 Johnson
247 Bracken
249 Clark

Umpires: A L Hill, S J A Taufel
Australia: Hayden, Gilchrist, Ponting, Clarke, Symonds, M Hussey, Hopes, Lee, Bracken, Johnson, Clark
India: Uthappa, Tendulkar, Gambhir, Yuvraj, R Sharma, Dhoni, Pathan, Kumar, Chawla, Harbhajan, Sreesanth

Second Final at Brisbane


The Brisbane Cricket Ground is a major sports stadium in the Queensland capital of Brisbane. It is located in the suburb of Woolloongabba, and is hence known colloquially as The 'Gabba.
The land on which the ground sits was first set aside for use as a cricket ground in 1895. The first cricket match was held on the site on 19 December 1896 between Parliament and The Press. The 'Gabba was not used for interstate or international cricket until 1931. The first Sheffield Shield match scheduled for The Gabba was to be played between 31 January 1931 and 4 February 1931, however it was washed out without the captains even bothering to toss a coin. The first cricket Test match at The 'Gabba was played Australia and South Africa between 27 November and 3 December 1931.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.