India vs Australia at Brisbane Commonwealth Bank Series 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs Australia at Brisbane

Comprehensive Cricket News, Latest Information and Live ball-by-ball Commentary.

India vs Australia 2007 Cricket Series

Commonwealth Bank Series 2008

India and Sri Lanka join Australia in the Commonwealth Bank Series, which is scheduled to start from February 3 - March 7, 2008.Get the latest news of Commonwealth Bank Series 2008 →

Index | Results | Live Telecast | Tickets | Teams

Cricket Schedule

India vs Australia at Brisbane

IND vs AUS, match 1, Brisbane: First ODI washed out

Australia's opening tri-series one-day cricket international against India at the Gabba has been abandoned due to rain.
Australia were three for 51 chasing 141 for victory off a rain reduced 26 overs when the game was finally called off. Australia were in trouble after losing Ricky Ponting for a duck, James Hopes for 17 and Adam Gilchrist for 14.
Earlier Brett Lee's five wicket haul helped Australia bowl India out for 194 in 45 overs. India's innings was reduced to 45 overs due to showers. Gautam Gambhir top scored for India with 39.
IND vs AUS, CB Series, match 1, Brisbane: Australia 51-3 (7.2 overs) v India 194 - No result (rain)

IND vs AUS, match 1, Brisbane: India launch ODI tri-series with tie against Australia

Flannels make way for coloured pyjamas as India will try to win, for the first time, the annual triangular one-day series in Australia that gets underway with a day-night game against the hosts at Brisbane.
The triangular series was launched 29 seasons ago by the Australia cricket board. India first took part in 1980-81, failing to reach the finals against Australia and New Zealand. India has never won the title. But the Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led India are perhaps best equipped Indian team to clinch the Commonwealth Bank tri-series in which Sri Lanka is the third team. Each team plays four matches against the other and the best two qualify for the best-of-three finals to be played March 2, 4 and 7 in Sydney, Brisbane and Adelaide.
Australia, the reigning one-day champions, are on a roll after winning 2-1 the four-Test series against India and steamrolling India in the one-off Twenty20 International in Melbourne Friday. But India are confident too, after their 3-2 win over Pakistan at home in November. Sri Lanka have had mixed results lately in this 50-overs-per-side format. Although the Mahela Jayawardene-Sri Lankans defeated a weak Bangladesh at home, they lost 2-3 to England on home turf in December. But none of the three teams can be discounted in one-day cricket. Each one is capable of winning the trophy either March 4, when the second final is played at the Gabba here, or, if the third final is required, March 7 in Adelaide.
India may not have Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid in the squad but young, energetic and talented players have the potential to put up a challenge to their rivals. In-form Virender Sehwag and the comeback man Gautam Gambhir are expected to lend solidity to wherever they are played, as openers or in the middle order. India team (from): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicket-keeper), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma and Sreesanth
Australia team (from): Ricky Ponting (Captain), Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, James Hopes, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee and Andrew Symonds

India vs Australia at Brisbane


India won the toss and decided to bat
194 all out (45.0 overs)
51 for 3 (7.2 overs)

India Innings - All out
b Bracken
8 1 0
Tendulkar hit wicket b Lee
17 1 0
Gambhir lbw b Johnson
51 4 0
R Sharma c Gilchrist b Lee
43 5 0
b Lee
16 0 0
Dhoni c Ponting b Lee
61 1 0
Uthappa c Clarke b Noffke
13 0 0
Pathan run out
40 0 1
Harbhajan c Clarke b Lee
19 3 0
Sreesanth run out
3 0 0
Sharma not out
1 0 0
2nb 4w 7lb 13
all out 194 (45.0 ovs)

Lee 9.0 2 27 5
Bracken 9.0 0 55 1
Noffke 9.0 0 46 1
Johnson 9.0 2 33 1
Hopes 6.0 0 17 0
Clarke 2.0 0 5 0
1.0 0 4 0
Fall of wicket
12 Sehwag
26 Tendulkar
91 Gambhir
93 R Sharma
102 Uthappa
147 Pathan
189 Dhoni
190 Harbhajan
194 Sreesanth

Australia Innings - Close
Gilchrist c Dhoni b Sreesanth
17 2 0
b Sharma
12 4 0
Ponting c Sehwag b Sreesanth
2 0 0
Clarke not out
8 0 0
not out
6 1 0
5nb 4w 4b 13
for 3 51 (7.2 ovs)

Pathan 2.0 0 23 0
Sreesanth 3.2 0 17 2
Sharma 2.0 0 7 1
Fall of wicket
33 Gilchrist
38 Hopes
39 Ponting

Umpires: S J Davis, R E Koertzen
Australia: Gilchrist, Hopes, Ponting, Clarke, Symonds, M Hussey, Haddin, Lee, Bracken, Noffke, Johnson
India: Sehwag, Tendulkar, Gambhir, Uthappa, R Sharma, Tiwary, Dhoni, Pathan, Harbhajan, Sreesanth, Sharma

India vs Australia at Brisbane


The Brisbane Cricket Ground is a major sports stadium in the Queensland capital of Brisbane. It is located in the suburb of Woolloongabba, and is hence known colloquially as The 'Gabba.
The land on which the ground sits was first set aside for use as a cricket ground in 1895. The first cricket match was held on the site on 19 December 1896 between Parliament and The Press. The 'Gabba was not used for interstate or international cricket until 1931. The first Sheffield Shield match scheduled for The Gabba was to be played between 31 January 1931 and 4 February 1931, however it was washed out without the captains even bothering to toss a coin. The first cricket Test match at The 'Gabba was played Australia and South Africa between 27 November and 3 December 1931.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.