India vs Sri Lanka at Brisbane Commonwealth Bank Series 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs Sri Lanka at Brisbane

IND vs SL, match 2, Brisbane: Match called off due to rain

The second one-day international (ODI) of the Commonwealth Bank series between India and Sri Lanka was called off on Tuesday due to rain with both teams getting two points each.
Earlier in the day, 184-run partnership between Gautam Gambhir and Team India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni helped Indians in scoring 267 after its top-order batting collapsed. Gambir made unbeaten 102, while Dhoni finished on 88 not out after the pair guided India to an impressive total at the Gabba in Brisbane. Openers Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag made 68 runs in the first 14 overs.
Lasith Malinga bowled Tendulkar for 35 and Sehwags wicket was taken by Ishara Amerasinghe. Muttiah Muralitharan took two wickets of Yuvraj Singh and Rohit Sharma. On Sunday too, the opening ODI between India and Australia was washed out.
IND vs SL, match 2, Brisbane: India 267-4 (50 overs) v Sri Lanka - No result, rain

IND vs SL, match 2, Brisbane: Sri Lanka looking to win first game

After a lapse of 16 years India will meet Sri Lanka on Australian soil in a limited over match when they confront in the Commonwealth Bank ODI series in a D/N game at the Woolloongaba Stadium in Brisbane today.
Since the 1992 world cup match against India scheduled to be played in February 1992 in Mckay, North Queensland washed out without a ball being bowled. The match against India to be played today will be the first time the Sri Lankans take on India on Aussie soil. Given the strength of the Australian team and the home advantage, Sri Lanka will be exploiting their chances in eliminating India to qualify for the best of three finals. The first match against India therefore will be crucial for both teams. India and Australia have shared two points each in the opening match, which was hampered by rain and was abandoned.
With such stroke makers like Sanath Jayasuriya who has recovered from his jaw injury, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Chaminda Vaas and Muralitharan in the team the Lankans should fancy their chances in coming first with the encounter against India . Sri Lanka has named a twelve-man squad while India will not risk playing their all-rounder Yuvraj Singh. There is one change in the Indian line up Suresh Raina coming in for Manoj Tiwari who failed to impress in the first game against Australia. Sri Lanka has so far played 95 ODIs against India, with India winning 49, Sri Lanka 37, and 9 matches with no results. Since winning the world cup in 1996, the two nations have met 57 times, with Sri Lanka winning 26 encounters and India 25 with 6 matches ending with no result. Sri Lanka team (from): Mahela Jayawardena (Captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, T.M. Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ishara Amarasinghe.
India team (from): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautham Gambhir, Rohith Sharma, Suresh Raina, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Dinesh Karthik, Praveen Kumar, Piyush Chawla.

India vs Sri Lanka at Brisbane


India won the toss and decided to bat
267 for 4 (50.0 overs)

India Innings - Close
Sehwag c Sangakkara b Amerasinghe
39 2 1
b Malinga
52 2 0
Gambhir not out
101 10 1
Yuvraj c M Jayawardene b Muralitharan
11 0 0
R Sharma c Sangakkara b Muralitharan
2 0 0
Dhoni not out
95 5 1
4w 3lb 7
for 4 267 (50.0 ovs)

Vaas 10.0 0 72 0
Malinga 10.0 1 56 1
Amerasinghe 10.0 2 30 1
Muralitharan 10.0 0 51 2
Kapugedera 6.0 0 23 0
Dilshan 1.0 0 8 0
Jayasuriya 3.0 0 24 0
Fall of wicket
68 Tendulkar
80 Sehwag
83 Yuvraj
83 R Sharma

Umpires: S J Davis, R E Koertzen
India: Sehwag, Tendulkar, Gambhir, Uthappa, R Sharma, Yuvraj, Dhoni, Pathan, Harbhajan, Sreesanth, Sharma
Sri Lanka: Tharanga, Jayasuriya, Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, Dilshan, Silva, Kapugedera, Vaas, Malinga, Amerasinghe, Muralitharan

India vs Sri Lanka at Brisbane


The Brisbane Cricket Ground is a major sports stadium in the Queensland capital of Brisbane. It is located in the suburb of Woolloongabba, and is hence known colloquially as The 'Gabba.
The land on which the ground sits was first set aside for use as a cricket ground in 1895. The first cricket match was held on the site on 19 December 1896 between Parliament and The Press. The 'Gabba was not used for interstate or international cricket until 1931. The first Sheffield Shield match scheduled for The Gabba was to be played between 31 January 1931 and 4 February 1931, however it was washed out without the captains even bothering to toss a coin. The first cricket Test match at The 'Gabba was played Australia and South Africa between 27 November and 3 December 1931.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.